Home / Classification / Regulations

Italian and European wine classification

Today there are two wine classification systems, one Italian and one European, each with its own acronyms.

The Italian classification, introduced by Law 164/1992, has recently been framed in the European regulatory context, however maintaining some specific original mentions:

  • DOCG “Denominazione di Origine Controllata e Garantita” that means Controlled and Guaranteed Designation of Origin
  • DOC “Denominazione di Origine Controllata” that means Controlled Designation of Origin
  • IGT “Indicazione Geografica Tipica” that means Typical Geographical Indication

The European classification, introduced with the Regulation CE 479/2009 and implemented in Italy with Legislative Decree 61/2010, is easier: it distinguishes substantially two large categories of wines, based on the presence or absence of the designation of origin. It is structured as follows:

Wines with designation of origin

  • DOP “Denominazione di Origine Protetta” that means Protected Designation of Origin
  • IGP “Indicazione Geografica Protetta” that means Protected Geographical Indication

Wines without designation of origin

  • “Varietal wines”
  • “Generic wines”

Of the same theme, you may be interested in...

Happy wine!